Banks in New Zealand

The banking system of New Zealand consists of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, commercial and merchant banks, trust savings banks and the Postal Savings Bank of New Zealand. A number of other financial institutions in the country, in particular, funding agencies, also perform some financial functions.
In general, the standard set of services, provided by commercial banks in New Zealand include:
  • Deposits
  • Loans
  • Current and savings accounts
  • Mortgages
  • Processing of transactions in foreign currencies
  • Supporting of international trade operations

    HSBC New Zealand

    HSBC New Zealand logo

    HSBC New Zealand is a branch of the Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation, one of the world’s biggest financial groups, operating in the country since 1987.

    Citibank New Zealand

    Citibank New Zealand

    Citibank New Zealand is a part of Citigroup, one of the largest financial services organisations in the world, with over 300,000 staff in over 100 countries.

    Deutsche Bank New Zealand

    Deutsche Bank New Zealand

    Deutsche Bank New Zealand is a subsidiary of the German global banking and financial services company, headquartered in Frankfurt.

    Rabobank New Zealand

    Rabobank New Zealand

    Rabobank New Zealand operates as a subsidiary of the world’s leading Dutch-based food and agribusiness bank Rabobank Groep N.V.

    Heartland Bank

    Heartland Bank logo

    Heartland Bank was established in 2011 as a result of the merger of four financial organisations in New Zealand.

    SBS Bank

    SBS Bank

    SBS Bank is a bank operating nationwide and providing banking, insurance, financial and property management services.

    HBS Bank

    HBS Bank

    HBS Bank (also known as Hastings Building Society) is a bank in New Zealand with branches in Hastings, Napier and Havelock North serving the Hawke’s Bay region.

    Co-operative Bank New Zealand

    Co-operative Bank New Zealand logo

    Co-operative Bank New Zealand is the only country’s bank owned by its members. Active since 1928, it currently has more than 128,000 customers in New Zealand.

    TSB Bank

    TSB Bank logo

    TSB Bank is a New Zealand-owned bank based in New Plymouth. It was established in 1850 and currently serves customers through a network of 14 branches within the Taranaki area and service centres in Hastings, Hamilton, Tauranga.


    Kiwibank logo

    Kiwibank is one of the largest banks in NZ, a subsidiary of the state-owned New Zealand Post Limited.

    Westpac New Zealand

    Westpac New Zealand logo

    Westpac New Zealand is the second largest bank in the country, a subsidiary of the Western-Pacific, one of the Australia’s big four banks.

    ANZ New Zealand

    ANZ logo

    ANZ is a banking arm of the Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited, largest banking and financial services group the country.

    ASB Bank

    ASB logo

    ASB Bank is a bank in New Zealand, a subsidiary of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. It was founded in 1847 as the Auckland Savings Bank and currently serves about 1.3 million personal, business and rural customers.

    BNZ (Bank of New Zealand)

    BNZ logo

    Bank of New Zealand (or BNZ) is one of largest banks in the country with 180 branches, where more than 5000 employees serve personal, business and private customers.

    Useful Information

    Banking Facilities in New Zealand’s Major Airports

    Banking Facilities in New Zealand's Major AirportsAll New Zealand’s major airports, including Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Queenstown and Dunedin can offer travellers banking facilities, such as branches, ATMs and currency exchange counters.

    Opening an Account at Kiwibank

    Opening an Account and Choosing a Banking Card at KiwibankThere are four types of everyday accounts available at Kiwibank: Free Up, NOW account, Front Runner and Bill Blaster.

    How to Open an Account at HSBC New Zealand

    HSBC in New Zealand has a pretty broad and diverse product and service portfolios, which include internet banking, credit cards, borrowings, savings, everyday banking, ATM withdrawals and more.

    Banking Holidays in New Zealand 2016

    A list of official public national and regional holidays (also known as Province Anniversary Days) in New Zealand (also non-working days for banks), according to the government of the country, for the 2016 calendar year.